Reed Doughty, Washington Redskins

5 11 2008

Finally—I now have the green light from my editor, Barbara, to blog about meeting and photographing Reed Doughty of the Washington Redskins!

Reed is the cover feature of our November/December 2008 issue of the Hearing Loss Magazine, which I design and produce bimonthly for the Hearing Loss Association of America. The issue is appearing in member mailboxes this week.

After Reed’s hearing loss was revealed to the public in July, Barbara seized the opportunity to make contact with Washington Redskins PR staff, and after a few phone calls and e-mails, Barbara, Patrick Holkins (who was our cover story on the September/October issue), and I were on our way to Redskins Park in Ashburn, Virginia, early in the morning on August 14.

Below are some of the photos I shot during the session. Many were taken while Barbara interviewed Reed. And yes, in case you’re wondering, his eyes are really that blue. And no, not all of our cover subjects are going to have blue eyes. (SIDEBAR: I got a kick out of an e-mail my friend (and HLAA member) Mike Royer sent to Barbara and me this morning:

“The magazine cover is STUNNING! Do his eyes glow in the dark? I bet I will have to cover my magazine at night time. Good job Ladies!”

It was just a coincidence that blue-eyed Reed graces the cover immediately after blue-eyed cover subject, Patrick Holkins, who is pictured below with Reed and Barbara Kelley. We were very welcomed by the PR staff at Redskins Park, and it was such a pleasure to meet and photograph Reed for the magazine. He was really nice and very generous with his time—both in posing and during the interview with Barbara.

Just as we were getting ready to send the issue to the printer, we learned that Reed had been placed on injured reserve with a back injury, so we had to make a last minute change to the article. We wish you a speedy recovery, Reed!

View the December 2, 2007 Washington Post article about Reed signing with the Redskins here.

View the July 26, 2008 article about Reed’s hearing loss in the Washington Post here.

And finally, I’d like to thank (profusely) Mark Gormus, award-winning staff photographer for the Richmond-Times Dispatch, who was so helpful with my lighting setup. Mark was at Redskins Park waiting to photograph another player and helped me set up for the perfect exposure in mixed lighting conditions. Because of his generous assistance, I got the cover shot in less than 20 minutes! Thanks, Mark—I owe you one!

Click this link below to view the full article:
hearinglossmagreeddoughty

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

reed-collage

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 11 2008
Jennifer

AWESOME pictures!! You do pick the men with the nicest eyes!! :)

3 12 2008
Cris J

Reed is such a good person but he is tough and he has a great support on his family. He and his family have had a rough year. Speedy recovery!

And yes, his eyes are that blue!

9 12 2008
Barbara Kelley

I had the pleasure of interviewing Washington Redskins’s Reed Doughty last August 2008. I know when he recovers from back surgery we will see him in a big way in the NFL as a strong defender. My husband (Bill) and son (Patrick) and I all wear the Doughty jersey Number 37 even though that is not his number now. It’s not the number that matters, it’s the man. Reed is a super role model to my son and his friends and to young people everwhere. We need more Reed Doughty’s in the world of pro sports.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 616 other followers

