Love, love, LOVE this site!

14 09 2011

I subscribe to author and graphic designer guru Chuck Greene’s “Design Links” e-letters and he shared a really great link today.

“Dear Photograph” is a website that showcases old photographs placed in the same scene from the past, accompanied by funny, intriguing and often poignant one or two line letters that begin with “Dear Photograph,” all submitted by people participating in the project. It was created by 21-year-old Taylor Jones and is now an online phenomenon. Time Magazine voted it #7 in the Best Websites of 2011 (click here for that article). Read more about Taylor’s project in this article on msnbc.com here.

I am (slightly) obsessed with recording the lives of my family and friends (sometimes much to their chagrin), as well as retracing the lives of complete strangers in old photographs that I’ve collected (see The Orphaned Images Project here), so this site really resonates with me. Wish I had thought of it! I think I’m going to have to go through my personal photo stash and see if I have some to recreate and contribute to the site. Thanks to Chuck Greene for sharing the link and thanks to Taylor Jones for his creative genius.

http://dearphotograph.com/

Actions

Information

5 responses

14 09 2011
Chuck Green

Thanks for the kind words Cindy. This one really struck me too. I love it when someone shows me something I think I fully understand and makes me look at it differently — that’s what effective design is all about.

14 09 2011
Mary Royers

Oh my goodness. I feel like I could browse that site for hours, thanks so much for sharing! (By the way, I loved it so much I reposted it on Facebook. So thanks for that as well!

14 09 2011
Molly C. Corum

Oh WOW more fun ideas for family photos.!!!!!!!!

15 09 2011
Coco Rivers

Cindy!

You are a wealth of information, what a totally cool site. It touched my little sentimental heart. Thank you so much for sharing.

Remind your family that they are being immortalized and maybe that will soothe them…maybe lol.

16 09 2011
Betty Londergan

Thanks so much for sharing! I love this idea and have the perfect photo in my head …. yay!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 515 other followers

