Seen & Heard: Gary Trompower

6 01 2013

Gary Trompower, a member of the Hearing Loss Association of America (HLAA), made his Seen & Heard profile debut in the January/February 2013 issue of Hearing Loss Magazine, which just arrived in member mailboxes. Our Seen & Heard column first made its debut in the magazine in 2010 and was met with great enthusiasm. We’ll be publishing one or two profiles (as space allows) in each issue of the bimonthly magazine. Other members previously profiled were Danielle NicosiaJohn KinstlerJudy Martin, Anne TaylorSam SpritzerJeff BonnellEloise SchwarzGlenice SwensonLaurie PullinsRosemary Tuite and Kathy BorzellTommy Thomas and Marisa Sarto. I met and photographed Gary in Providence at HLAA’s convention in June 2012.

Join the Hearing Loss Association of America!
Do you have a hearing loss or know someone who does? Consider membership in the Hearing Loss Association of America. Student annual dues are $20, individual annual dues are $35, and family/couple annual dues are $45. Fees outside the U.S. are slightly higher. All memberships include discounts on hearing-related products, convention and special event early bird discounts, AVIS and Alamo car rental, and the award-winning Hearing Loss Magazine. Sign up for membership here.

And what is the top thing you’ll learn about Gary? The man has it bad for Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups! (They’re my favorite, too!)

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

S&HGaryTrompower

Canton, Ohio / Born May 5, 1956 in Canton, Ohio

ALL ABOUT MY HEARING LOSS… I was 17 years old and diagnosed with sensorineural hearing loss in both ears. It’s come to rest now at 95% loss in my left ear and 80% loss in my right ear. I wear one behind-the-ear aid on my right ear, which helps to hear some sounds.

SAGE ADVICE FOR SOMEONE NEWLY-DIAGNOSED WITH HEARING LOSS… Remind yourself that getting angry is not going to fix anything! Go out and enjoy life the best you can.

FUNNY HEARING LOSS MOMENT… People will telephone and ask for me and my wife will tell them, “Gary is deaf and I will ask him your questions.” The person calling will say they’ll call back or call tomorrow. Huh? Like I’m going to be able to hear them tomorrow or sometime later? I only wish it worked that way!

WHEN I WAS LITTLE, I WANTED TO BE… Batman!

FIRST THING I BOUGHT WITH MY OWN MONEY Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

HARDEST THING I’VE EVER DONE… Quit smoking cigarettes (more than six years tobacco free). My stress level went sky high, but the health benefits are worth the effort.

I MOST DEFINITELY AM NOT… a snobbish or a stuck-up person. Some people get that impression, but it’s just that many of us have the, as Rocky Stone would say, “invisible condition,” and we just don’t hear them.

HOBBIES? Woodworking and computers

PEOPLE WOULD BE SURPRISED THAT I… like math. I always have and it’s been very useful in this life.

I WISH I HAD A TALENT FOR… hog wrestling and playing bass guitar.

FAVORITE PLACE TO BE… with my wife

I HAVE A WEAKNESS FOR… Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

WORKING NINE TO FIVE… At 14, I flipped burgers at the local ice cream stand. At 19, I managed a Radio Shack. At 21, I tried selling hearing aids. At 22, I ran my own small lawn care business, and then I started my current engineering career (35 years) with a local medical center.

I AM… a traditional, red-blooded, American dude!

MY FRIENDS WOULD SAY I AM… really, really cool!

BEST THING SINCE SLICED BREAD…  Texting—it’s a fantastic way for people with hearing loss to communicate.

I REALLY SHOULD STOP… eating Reese’s Cups, but they’re so good!

PHRASES I OVERUSE… What was that? What did you say? Yes…I’ll have another Reese’s Cup.

I HAVE THE UNCANNY ABILITY TO… fix anything but a broken heart.

I SIMPLY CANNOT LIVE WITHOUT… tough one, huh? Reese Cups!

EVER MEET ANYONE FAMOUS? For many years, we have attended the Clark Gable foundation birthday parties (Cadiz, Ohio) where I met many of the cast from Gone with the Wind, including Fred Crane, Rand Brooks, Cammie King, Butterfly McQueen and Patrick Curtis.

Hearing Loss Magazine has great stories and valuable information about hearing loss. It is a wonderful publication!

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

7 01 2013
virginiaplantation

I’m going to have to copy this for my dad. He has two hearing aids now.

31 01 2013
Gary

Hello Cindy, thank you so much for a wonderful photo and setting me up in the HLAA Jan / Feb issue. It is openning a number of doors and i hope some of them ” Show Me The Money ” I need to buy more Reese Cups! :) thanks again OXOXOX Gary

31 01 2013
cindydyer

You’re more than welcome, Gary! Can’t have you running out of Reese’s Cups! I’ll prepare some of the photos of you with Cindy—didn’t have a chance to do those yet; you’ll love them!

1 02 2013
Gary

Ahh… Cindy , your just the icing on the cake girl ! Cindy and I are forever greatful to you for all your work on those pictures! i can’t wait to see them …. everyone is so impressed with the way you made me look in the HLAA magazine… wholey toleado these with Cindy in them will be just fantastic !!

Have a Great Weekend ( Go 9ers )
oxoxoxo
Gary

10 04 2013
Gary Trompower

Cindy, I’m following your blog here … and Wow !!! You have yourself in so many wonderful places… Weddings … Sports… More and More magazine pages for HLAA… on and on along with your family members! Cindy, you are absolutely amazing Photographer.

Thanks again for all you’re doing for me.

Gary

11 04 2013
cindydyer

Hi Gary! Thank you SO much for the sweet comment. I love what I do and I’m glad it shows! Thanks for following my blog, too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 602 other followers

