Introducing Ashley Jocelyn

31 08 2008

On Tuesday, August 26, at 4:14 p.m., Ashley Jocelyn graced the world with her presence, weighing 7 lbs. 6.4 oz, and measuring 21 inches long. (See her very first portrait in the collage below). Her father, Mike, asked me if I would consider photographing it since he had never seen a childbirth in still photographs and thought I could capture it beautifully. (Thanks for considering me for the project, Mike and Alicia! I hope I did the event justice with these images.)

Believe it or not, this is not the first time I’ve photographed a baby being born. About 13 or 14 years ago, I photographed a friend’s sister having her second child. This was pre-digital photography days, so I shot print film the couple had provided and then handed the rolls over for them to process. Unfortunately, I’ve never seen the images, even though I was told that they turned out well. It’s the first and only time I haven’t seen the results of a shoot, and as you can see, I still remember that fact!

Suddenly, here was a chance to shoot digitally and be able to get immediate feedback—so I jumped at the chance. It was a privilege to witness Ashley’s birth and to photograph her entrance into the world for Alicia and Michael. Below are some of the images of this amazing event.

I photographed Alicia in early June in my studio with Mike and their two children. You’ll see those photos in my posting titled, “And baby girl makes five…” I also got some great shots of the kids here. I’m looking forward to the opportunity to photograph Ashley and her family again.

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

8 responses

31 08 2008
Jennifer

Cindy, the pictures are just wonderful! You did a great job capturing those first few moments of Miss Ashley’s life! Isn’t she just beautiful, though?

31 08 2008
cindydyer

Thanks, Jen! It was pretty neat to be a part of that experience. They’re such an adorable family and I appreciate them including me in the event.

31 08 2008
Sam Spritzer

Those are beautiful pictures as well as all of the others you have taken, especially those of Abbie Cranmer. I had the pleasure of meeting her and Jennifer a couple of weeks ago. If you’re ever in the Buffalo, NY area, please do let me know as we do have some really beautiful photogenic sites.

2 09 2008
Alicia

Cindy, I have never seen anyone make me look so good after just having a baby! If anyone thinks they are unphotogenic, just have Cindy be the photographer!

2 09 2008
Denise Turner

Wow, Cindy! These are exquisite… You’ve captured so much here, not just those first amazing moments of life, but an array of emotions too: joy, fascination, celebration—it’s all there, captured through the lens of your camera. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing these.

3 09 2008
cindydyer

Thanks for the wonderful comment, Denise! I was very fortunate to be a part of the big event.

10 09 2008
cindydyer

Hey Alicia,

I promise, I did NO retouching on you in the photos. You just photograph well, girl!

16 09 2008
Abbie

Simply breathtaking photos of a beautiful baby girl! 🙂 You managed to capture the essence of new life!

Leave a Reply

