Eye candy

10 12 2011

I’ve been going through my garden photography archives from the past six years, searching for images that I might use for my first exhibit since college (the covered wagon days). I’m scheduled for a solo photographic exhibit at Green Spring Gardens in Alexandria, VA from March through April 2012. The reception will be held Sunday, April 15, from 1–3 p.m. (Yeah, I’m well aware that it also happens to be dreaded tax day—take a break, come see me, eat some appetizers, and buy something so I can recoup my investment in this show!) So mark your calendars and get your taxes done so you can come see me! Even if you can’t make the reception, remember that the show runs through all of March and April. The horticulture center is open seven days a week, 9-4:30 on weekdays/Saturday and 12-4:30 on Sunday.

There will be more details to come, but I must say that I’m really jazzed about it. The horticulture center is really a lovely place to exhibit art and I’m honored that I’ll be having my work showcased in one of my favorite gardens. Thanks to Katie Delgado for introducing me to Green Spring Gardens more than five years ago. I had no idea such a lovely little park existed in our area. Many of my favorite botanical images were created there. And finally, thanks (in advance) for all the professional matting and framing work my father will be doing for me next month!

I’ll have matted/framed images, gallery wrap canvas images, and unframed/matted images available for purchase. A percentage of sales goes to Green Spring Gardens. My dear friend and Hearing Loss Magazine editor, Barbara Kelley, will be catering the event in her capacity as Kelley Hospitality, and I’m very excited about having her assistance with my first show since my college days. Check out Barbara’s hospitality blog here.

Below is a collage of just some of the images I’ve pulled out that are under consideration. It’s been raining for a few days here in my neck of the woods and I needed to see a good dose of color to lift my mood. Enjoy!

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

6 responses

10 12 2011
tomwhelan

Lots of beautiful images, lovely colors. Best of luck with your exhibit!

10 12 2011
cindydyer

Thanks so much, Tom. Any tips on exhibiting?

10 12 2011
PhotoPoetics™

Gorgeous photos! I’m sure your exhibit will be a success.

10 12 2011
danjphoto

Excellent color work. Impressive. Not sure if you’ve ever used the metallic papers, but these photos would really pop on metal.

11 12 2011
Giiid

Candy for eyes and soul. 🙂

How wonderful and exciting for you, I am sure you will sell everything out in no time.
Have you thought about offering posters of some? I can´t imagine any reason to say no. Your photos appeal to the Danish/Scandinavian favorite style of simplicity, perhaps you should come over and make an exhibition here?

14 12 2011
cindydyer

Wow—wouldn’t that be fun to have an exhibit in in your neck of the woods? Set something up and I’ll get there somehow! 🙂 I’ll give you a commission on sales, I promise!

Leave a Reply

