Steve Thomas, illustrator

17 03 2012

Last month illustrator Steve Thomas e-mailed me to ask permission to use a photograph I shot of a seagull in Bodega Bay, California as an art reference (photo at right). I granted him permission with the only stipulation being that he share his final results with me. He wrote, “Thanks a million. When I saw your photo, I knew it was perfect for what I was planning, which happens to be a fake travel poster to Bodega Bay, inspired by the movie “The Birds” for a Hitchcock tribute show.”

This week he sent me his entry. Do you see Hitchcock’s famous profile in the bird? Pretty cool, huh? The gallery show is a tribute to Hitchcock and he chose to do a travel poster in the location where “The Birds” takes place. He says, “Adding Hitchcock’s profile just helped solidify the connection.” Thanks for sharing it with me, Steve!

Learn more about this very talented artist here and see more of his work here. He even has his posters and t-shirt art available on Zazzle here. I just love his illustration style (and especially love the vintage-look travel posters)!

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 03 2012
Betty Londergan

very cool — LOVE that high concept stuff!!!

17 03 2012
william (Bill) Biggers Jr.

Cindy, that is too cool (is that word still in use?). I still have the photo of your Passion Flower… haven’t painted in a year now and hopefully be up to it soon to ad to your fans who paint your incredible photo art.

Leave a Reply

