Daniel Scott’s Recycled Mosaics—prints now available!

5 08 2012

I met graphic designer and artist Daniel Scott, Jr. through my blog last spring. He asked permission to use a photo I had shot of a cluster of purple Spiderwort flowers as inspiration for one of his recycled mosaic illustrations, which he has been creating since 1995. My photo, shot at the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, inspired him to create “A Vibrant Morning Wake,” which is seen here in a posting I did in July 2011, and in the collage below (upper left).

Each beautiful mosaic is made from thousands of tiny bits of recycled candy wrappers, drink labels, gum wrappers, and sugar and tea packets. He now has limited edition prints available for purchase in the store on his website here. His work is spectacular—check it out!

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 08 2012
Insectamonarca

Brilliant and original art modality in recycling. Will visit his website and leave a comment there if permitted. Thanks for sharing your purple spiderwort photo and how Danial Scott created his art for your own art.

5 08 2012
Insectamonarca

I am definitely buying your purple spiderwort art recycled mosaic from Daniel’s online store. Problem is his checkout needs full bank account number and I can’t do from MA simply because I didn’t bring this check account with me. I will call the bank for account number on Monday. Drats! Love the idea of how he recycled. I will need to purchase for my new digs in MA. I am putting it on my iPhone calender with order information. I will hang this art above my bed much like one would do a dream catcher. After all he is catching a dream and you are in the dream. Love it!

5 08 2012
thekingoftexas

The best I can do in commenting on this posting is to parrot the two comments above, with only one exception: I can’t say that I will buy your purple spiderwort art created by Daniel, but I can say that I will consider it.

As soon as you and Daniel absorb these comments, you should consider some sort of collaboration with your photography and Daniel’s marvelous ability to transfer your work to spectacular mosaic art.

A well-done and a shout-out to you and Daniel from The King of Texas (http://thekingoftexas.com/)!

5 08 2012
dcescott

Thanks King of Texas, Insectamonarca and Cindy! The Spiderwort mosaic hands down my favorite. Mr. King, if you are near Fort Worth, gimme a holler. I am in an exhibit at the Fort Worth Community Arts Center next month. Check it out! http://www.fwcac.com/?calendar/2467 🙂

Leave a Reply

