Friday night at The Birchmere

22 09 2012

I had the opportunity to do some photography during the John Hiatt concert tonight at The Birchmere in Alexandria, VA. He has such energy (he just turned 60 last month) and is the epitome of cool. It was a great concert!

Shooting photos in low-level light is quite challenging, but I have really come to enjoy it. Most of these images were shot on at least 3200 ISO, Nikon D300 with my Nikkor 80-400 VR lens handheld, wide open aperture in most cases. The gel lights were especially tricky and auto white balance wasn’t always the way to go, so I kept switching my white balance options to compensate for various color hues. Thanks to my friend and freelance music and entertainment writer, Nancy Dunham, for offering me this great opportunity to shoot concert photos again! Below are some of my favorite images from the evening.

In the photos below are: legendary singer/songwriter John Hiatt (top two photos), guitarist and Nashville producer Doug Lancio, bassist and singer Nathan Gehri (two members of The Combo) and the last photo is of Joe Pug (the opening act)

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 09 2012
Molly C. Corum

Beautiful closeups !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

22 09 2012
Barbara Garneau Kelley

I feel like I was there…awesome lighting techniques.

22 09 2012
thekingoftexas

Outstanding shots, perfecto in every possible way. Hey, that Joe Pug is a cutie. Not that I lean that way, not even one degree, but I believe in calling a spade a spade—oops, I forgot, I shouldn’t say that, even though it is a time-honored term.

Muy bien trabajo, mia! (note the exclamation point).

Leave a Reply

