Seen & Heard: Rosemary Tuite and Kathy Borzell

18 10 2012

Siblings Rosemary Tuite and Kathy Borzell, both members of the Hearing Loss Association of America (HLAA), made their Seen & Heard profile debut in the September/October 2012 issue of Hearing Loss Magazine, along with Rosemary’s service dog, Janet. I photographed them at Convention 2011 in Washington, D.C.

Rosemary Tuite

WHAT I LOVE MOST ABOUT MY SISTER KATHY BORZELL… Kathy and I have had a support system going with each other because we both have hearing loss. I believe it has made us even closer than we would have been. She has been an incredible support to me and I think she feels the same about my support of her.

WHAT I LOVE MOST ABOUT MY SERVICE DOG, JANET… Janet has changed my life. I sleep better knowing she will be there if need be and she is my comfort and strength when I get into a stressful situation due to my hearing loss. She has become a support to both my husband and I as he has a physical disability that she understands.

MY HEARING LOSS… I’m not sure when my hearing loss was first discovered, but it was probably in my late teens. There was severe-to-profound hearing loss in our family; mine was considered mild so I didn’t get hearing aids until I was 40 even though I needed them years before. I wore them religiously once I got them and was implanted with my first cochlear implant in November 2007 and my second in September 2010.

SAGE ADVICE FOR SOMEONE NEWLY-DIAGNOSED WITH HEARING LOSS…
Get with peers, join HLAA and a local HLAA Chapter.

MY FUNNY HEARING LOSS MOMENT… When I received my first cochlear implant, I was waiting in the audiologist’s office at Mayo Clinic for my second mapping. I thought I was doing so well and could hear most of all the conversations around the waiting room except for two elderly ladies sitting on the other side of my husband, Jim. I leaned to Jim and said, ‘I can’t understand a word those two people are saying.’ He looked at me and said, ‘Rose, maybe because they are speaking Spanish.’ We were both laughing so hard; my audiologist came out to get us and said this has to be about a CI moment. There are been many CI moments that bring a smile to my face.

DISADVANTAGES OF A HEARING LOSS… When you can’t hear, and you are by yourself in a room full of people, it is so lonely.

ADVANTAGES OF A HEARING LOSS… the incredible people I have met because of my hearing loss, the smile on someone’s face when you give them advice about their own loss that they never knew before, or just the look on their face when they know you truly understand

WHEN I GREW UP, I WANTED TO BE… a teacher.

FAVORITE CHILDHOOD MEMORY… Christmas was my favorite time, I was about three years old; but another favorite memory is sitting on my dad’s lap in the evening and he would sing what I called the ‘Moon Song,’ I don’t remember what the real title was. I can remember the chair we sat in each night outside on
the patio.

FIRST THING I BOUGHT WITH MY OWN MONEY… clothes! I love clothes and my mom made almost all of my clothes when I was young.

HARDEST THING I’VE DONE… let my children make choices that I knew would not be in their best interest

FIRST MEMORY OF REAL EXCITEMENT… Christmas morning. I would get so excited I often got sick on Christmas day from all the excitement.

SOUNDS I LOVE… with my cochlear implants, it’s the sound of everything. I never believed I would hear this well.

IN MY SPARE TIME… I love to play golf or read.

I MOST DEFINITELY AM NOT… shy!

I MISS… Those who have gone before me. I also miss the things that my husband and I did together. He was 13 when he became an amputee and has worn prosthesis for 63 years. We found things to do together; he loved golf, so I learned it. We don’t golf anymore but we go out more to be with people as I can now better communicate with others.

HAPPINESS IS… hearing; being married to a wonderful husband for 46 years, enjoying family and friends

PEOPLE WOULD BE SURPRISED THAT I… really cherish my time alone.

MY LITTLE KNOWN TALENT… If I have one, I really am not aware of it.

CITY, BEACH, COUNTRY OR MOUNTAINS?… Mountains for sure—I feel peace and serenity when I can
see mountains.

FAVORITE PLACE TO BE… home

I HAVE A WEAKNESS FOR… chocolate.

I WOULD LOVE TO MEET… Jesus, but if I met Him when he was on this earth, would I have really known Him at that time?

FAVORITE SEASON… Fall, because I love and marvel at the colors each day brings. I love the change of seasons and Asheville has all of them.

I COLLECT… Longaberger baskets.

YOU’VE JUST WON A $1,000 SHOPPING SPREE TO A FAVORITE STORE… I’d go to Chico’s and buy clothes.

FAVORITE COLOR?… Green, all shades.

WORKING NINE TO FIVE… babysitter, secretary, homemaker, gift shop sales, volunteer (more volunteer jobs than any paying jobs)

FAVORITE FOODS… pizza, lasagna, mountain trout, lobster tail, chocolate malts

LAST BOOK I READ… A Lucky Irish Lad by Kevin O’Hara

MY FRIENDS WOULD SAY I AM… a good friend.

MY MOTHER TAUGHT ME… that I was not better than anyone else in God’s eyes.

MY FATHER TAUGHT ME… to pray.

GET ANYTHING GOOD IN THE MAIL LATELY? A memorial program and pin for someone dear to me whose memorial service I could not attend

THE BEST THING SINCE SLICED BREAD… This makes me laugh as I have said it so many times—my iPad!

I HAVE A FEAR OF… heights when there are no barriers.

PHRASE I OVERUSE… “It is what it is.”

I SIMPLY CANNOT LIVE WITHOUT… my faith.

EVER MEET ANYONE FAMOUS?… Arnold Palmer

PET PEEVE… People think you hear everything because you wear hearing aids or cochlear implants.

MY MOTTO... “Let go and let God!”

GREATEST ACCOMPLISHMENT… my children

Hearing Loss Magazine has many articles of interest to people with all levels of hearing loss It keeps going on from me, I share it and know the people I share it with also share it.

______________________________

Kathy Borzell

WHAT I LOVE MOST ABOUT MY SISTER, ROSEMARY… She’s made my life easier being able to share my hearing loss journey with her. She has always been there for me.

MY HEARING LOSS… I was about 19 when it was noticed that I wasn’t hearing normally. My father and my oldest brother were also hard of hearing so I just figured I had ‘it’ too. Little did I know at that time how much ‘it’ would impact my life!

SAGE ADVICE FOR SOMEONE NEWLY-DIAGNOSED WITH HEARING LOSS… Find support through others who have hearing loss. Your hearing loss professional can be wonderful and helpful to you, but there’s nothing more empowering than being in a safe environment of your peers. You’ll be so much better equipped to deal with life in the hearing world!

MY FUNNY HEARING LOSS MOMENT… I was in my late 20s and at a cocktail party with my husband. I was having a conversation with a gal who was talking about being a “Buddhist.” She told me she had a special room in her house where she practiced. The conversation went on, and I just nodded my head (knowing nothing about Buddhism!) when I finally realized she was telling me she was a flutist. Now that made sense!
We’ve done a lot of laughing at this over the years.

DISADVANTAGES OF A HEARING LOSS… it impacts every aspect of your life. Until you come to terms with hearing loss, it can eat you up.

ADVANTAGES OF A HEARING LOSS… Silence can be very nice.

WHEN I GREW UP I WANTED TO BE…I had no clue.

FAVORITE CHILDHOOD MEMORY… Christmas—I am the youngest of five children, and my siblings spoiled me so much.

THE BEST/WORST GIFT I’VE RECEIVED… my hearing loss

FIRST THING I BOUGHT WITH MY OWN MONEY… my first car—a Toyota Corolla that was a lemon, but I loved it anyway

HARDEST THING I’VE EVER DONE… say goodbye to my late brother

FIRST MEMORY OF REAL EXCITEMENT While I can’t remember a specific time, I’m sure it must have been at Christmas time.

SOUNDS I LOVE… the wind blowing and birds chirping.

IN MY SPARE TIME… I play golf, read, cook, take care of my plants and garden.

I MISS… listening to John Denver without assistive equipment.

HAPPINESS IS… feeling okay with oneself.

IF YOU COULD LIVE ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD FOR A YEAR, WHERE WOULD IT BE? Right here, where I am, in these beautiful mountains

I WISH I HAD A TALENT FOR…line dancing.

YOU JUST WON THE $10 MILLION LOTTERY. WHAT HAPPENS NEXT? I go into hiding.

I HAVE A WEAKNESS FOR… pizza and chocolate.

I WOULD LIKE TO MEET… Joe Namath.

FAVORITE SEASON… Fall—it’s just so gorgeous here and, oh, football season!

YOU’VE JUST WON A $1,000 SHOPPING SPREE TO A FAVORITE STORE! Chico’s for clothes!

FIVE FAVORITE SONGS… Looking for Space by John Denver, Carolina on My Mind by James Taylor, Kathy’s Song by Simon & Garfunkel, Up on the Roof by James Taylor and No One in the World by Anita Baker

MY KIDS HAVE TAUGHT ME… that I’ve done a better job of being a mother than I give myself credit for.

BEST THING SINCE SLICED BREAD… sliced pizza

I HAVE A FEAR OF… driving over bridges.

I REALLY SHOULD STOP… shopping online.

PHRASE I OVERUSE… can’t repeat it here

SOMETHING THAT YOU HAVE IN YOUR HOME THAT YOU ARE SURE MOST PEOPLE DON’T… a Shake-Awake alarm

MY THREE FAVORITE POSSESSIONS… my engagement ring, my home, my dog

FAVORITE QUOTE… “Bless the beasts and the children—they have no voice, they have no choice.”

EVER MEET ANYONE FAMOUS? Donald Trump—while working at The Bowery Savings Bank in Manhattan

MY LONG-TERM GOAL IS… to grow old gracefully.

PET PEEVE… Sitting in a noisy restaurant or bar or airport where there is a TV but no captioning. Then again, the rest of the crowd is as clueless as I am.

I WANT TO BE REMEMBERED AS… a caring person who tried to make a difference.

GREATEST ACCOMPLISHMENT? Raising my kids—they’re good people

Actions

Information

One response

18 10 2012
sharoncrouch

Rosemary, I have come to know you through FB and HLA I have found you to be one of the kindest wonders of the human race. So funny you should mention the “Shake Awake” alarm after reading Tommy’s honeymoon experience. Oh, we have something else in common. Joe Namath what a coincidence. Kind of tells us we are from the same place in time. You have come to terms with your hearing loss in a mighty way. You have taken it and moved in “Payin It Forward” in so many lives. I thank you for touching my life. Your sister is blessed to have a sister such as you. So blessed that you had someone to share your growing experiences in hearing loss with. If Kathy is anything like you, then she too has touched many lives. May the Lord continue to bless you use you in the Mighty Way he has.

Leave a Reply

