Ombre Rose

2 06 2013

Sometime during my college years, my sister Debbie and I were out shopping at Joe Brand, an upscale department store in La Plaza Mall in McAllen, Texas. It was there we discovered “Ombre Rose,” a hot new cologne (at the time). I declared this one was THE scent I could live with the rest of my life. (I do this quite often but then that “end-all-be-all” scent is inevitably dethroned by another every few years). For most of my high school years my scent of choice was Anais Anais. Before that, I enveloped myself in Jean Nate Body Splash (influenced, no doubt, by those commercials with the breathy announcer—“for people who want to take charge of their life….you get the feeling there’s nothing you can’t do!” Hey, sign me up for some of that!) or Charlie by Revlon (I just knew that if I wore that scent, I would appear to have much longer legs and my hair would swing in the wind, just like Shelley Hack’s did). And don’t get me started on how much I loved the smell of Farrah Fawcett shampoo. Though I never did achieve hair like hers (I’m sure you’re shocked), I did find an almost exact replica of the blue plaid jacket she wore on the bottle label.

Ah…how I digress…here is my visual rendition of an ombre rose. Hybrid tea rose ‘Portrait’, photographed at Brookside Gardens in Wheaton, MD

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

Ombre Effect Rose

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 06 2013
Karen

Loved this image! That rose is so beautiful. Also enjoyed your editorial comments on perfume scents you enjoyed way back when. -Mine were Miss Balmain and Masumi.

6 06 2013
sue

Now that’s what I call, “Pretty in pink!”

Leave a Reply

