Seen & Heard: Debbie Mohney

7 09 2013

Debbie Mohney is our Seen & Heard profile in the September/October 2013 issue of Hearing Loss Magazine, published bimonthly by the Hearing Loss Association of America. I met and photographed Debbie at HLAA’s Convention 2011 in Washington, D.C.

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

S&H Debbie Mohney

Debbie Mohney / Boulder, CO / born June 5 in Boulder, CO

MY HEARING LOSS… I was born with a bilateral high-frequency hearing loss, but it wasn’t discovered until I was in kindergarten. I had speech therapy in kindergarten, and then learned how to advocate for myself by sitting in the front row and getting to know my teachers very well. I got my first hearing aid at 18 when I realized I needed to be able to hear professors in college who often face the blackboard while they write. I now wear two BTE Phonak Nios. They have Sound Recover, which is a frequency transposition program. I make sure all my hearing aids have a telecoil so I can use assistive listening systems. I also have an iCom—a Bluetooth streamer—which allows me to use my cell phone, listen to my iPod, and gives me TV in stereo surround sound—very cool!

SAGE ADVICE… Learn everything you can and attend a Hearing Loss Association of America chapter meeting. Learn what works from other people and all you can about the technology that is available. Stop bluffing your way through conversations and start educating about your needs. Easier said than done sometimes, but I used to be the same way.

MY FUNNY HEARING LOSS MOMENT… The funniest one that wasn’t at the time: I would often meet my parents for lunch, and one day my Mom called and said “We are going to be a little late, Daddy’s dead in the car.” My heart started racing and I shouted out “What???” She replied, “Yeah… Daddy’s down in the garage and the battery is dead in the car.” For many days after that, every time I saw or talked to my Dad, I asked him how he was doing.

WHEN I WAS LITTLE, I WANTED TO BE… a teacher and a writer.

THE BEST GIFT I EVER RECEIVED… My grandma taught me how to read when I was three years old, so I have no memory of actually learning how to read. It gave me advantages that I would not otherwise have with my hearing loss.

MY FAVORITE CHILDHOOD MEMORY IS… sitting in my Dad’s lap to go to sleep as a toddler, watching Johnny Carson. Really, I think I watched more Johnny Carson than I got sleep!

WORKING NINE TO FIVE… I’ve been a babysitter. I’ve worked in a print shop putting publications together. I’ve been an accounts receivable clerk and an office manager.

I HAVE A WEAKNESS FOR… Disneyland and Disneyland.

I LOVE THE SOUND OF… my son playing saxophone. He has a swing band and his music has inspired me to learn how to dance.

IN MY SPARE TIME… I volunteer with HLAA and other hearing loss-related organizations and Boy Scouts. I love to listen to music and enjoy museums, movies and hiking.

MEETING ROCKY STONE… I met Rocky Stone several times—the first time at the New Orleans SHHH Convention. He was so warm and friendly to talk to, and he always asked me about Ann Pruitt from Colorado. From then on, he always remembered me and always had a big smile for me.

Hearing Loss Magazine is a great magazine. In each issue there is so much timely information about everything to do with hearing loss. From more technical articles to personal stories and advocacy, you come away from the magazine empowered to do something.

Actions

Information

One response

9 09 2013
Judy Schefcick Martin

A great picture of great friend by a great photographer!

Leave a Reply

