Road trip in Iceland: Akranes Lighthouse

14 06 2014

On the last night of our road trip, we stayed in Akranes, the 9th most populous town (6,623) in Iceland. This is the Akranes Lighthouse, built in 1918 and inactive since 1947. It is located at the extreme tip of the Skipaskagi (Ships’ Cape) peninsula. I saw the golden light on the lighthouse from our guesthouse owner’s dining room window. She suggested I borrow her bicycle and bike over to it to shoot some photos, so I did just that. I was only gone about a half hour, but I had such a great time—put my camera in the basket, hopped on, and pedaled over toward the lighthouse, wind in my hair. It was about 11:00 p.m., and I must admit that I’ve never been on a bike ride at that time of the night until then!

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

Akranes Lighthouse

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

