Road trip in Iceland: The cliffs of Látrabjarg

14 06 2014

This is a “record” shot” (meaning it won’t win any awards!) of a portion of the bird cliffs of Látrabjarg in the West fjords. I wanted to give you a sense of how steep these cliffs are. At the top of the photo, you can see a few little buildings and a lone man walking. There is a squiggly white line to the left of the man in the black jacket—this is the “safe zone” line they marked in the grass with paint. Before we went to Látrabjarg, I was doing some research and learned that in 2010, a 51-year-old German man and his wife were at Látrabjarg and the man fell to his death while photographing the birds. The cliffs are 1500 feet high and the ground at the cliff edges can become unstable because the puffins dig their burrows below the surface. I was a bit apprehensive about going after reading that, but once there, I felt safe since I was staying behind the safe line and using a long lens. I’d do most anything to get a good photograph, but I won’t risk life and limb!

You can’t see the birds in this photo, but there are hundreds of birds nestled in the nooks and crannies. I got most of my shots from one side, pointed toward the areas that jut out at an angle. I got the puffin shots easily because they nest close to the top of the cliff and my 80-400 lens was perfect for the task.

Látrabjarg is the westernmost point of Europe.

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

Latrabjarg scale

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

