Re-post: Shine on, shine on Harvest Moon

16 01 2015

Originally posted 9.23.2008

En route to visit Barb and Dean in Spokane on Saturday, September 13, we drove past miles and miles of wheat fields and as the land became more golden in the late afternoon light, we noticed the makings of a harvest moon.

Whenever I hear the words, “harvest moon,” I always remember a very old Ruth Etting album (heaven only knows where I found it) that I eventually gave to a friend’s husband to add to his large music collection. I just did a search and I actually found the recording! The only words I could remember were “shine on, shine on harvest moon…for me and my guy.” (I sing it true to her old-fashioned vibrato, of course).

Etting revived the song in Ziegfield Follies in 1931. Click here to find it on youtube.com. And if you’re a Liza Minnelli fan, click here for her rendition of the song.

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 7.55.53 AM

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 01 2015
denisebushphoto

Beautiful! You must have been traveling through The Palouse region … one of my favorite places on earth!

17 01 2015
Mary Ellen Ryall

Stunning with contour of land and moon. Geat shot!

Leave a Reply

