Inchworm, inchworm…

3 05 2015

I spent quite a while photographing this little inchworm as he made his way along the jagged path of an Autumn fern stalk this afternoon. Here’s something I didn’t know until I did some homework: this little inchworm is actually not a worm—it is the larvae of a Geometer moth (exactly which type, I haven’t a clue). The word Geometer means to “measure the earth,” which is what the inchworms appear to be doing when they move in this looping crawl. They have two to three pairs of legs at each end so they can “inch” their way through life. (Now I can’t get the inchworm song out of my head!)

© Cindy Dyer. All rights reserved.

InchWorm 1

Actions

Information

8 responses

3 05 2015
trietnguyen1982

It’s so cute worm!

3 05 2015
aayusi

Beautifully captured !!

3 05 2015
Alexa

Great picture! Made me come and look your blog! Nice shot! 🙂

3 05 2015
trietnguyen1982

It’s so cute worm!

10 05 2015
cindydyer

Thanks, Alexa!

10 05 2015
cindydyer

Thank you!

11 05 2015
aayusi

🙂

15 05 2015
Betty Londergan

Adorable!! I love this shot!

Leave a Reply

