Goodbye, my beloved ZenaB

10 09 2014

There’s another angel crossing over Rainbow Bridge tonight—our beloved ZenaB. She was diagnosed with untreatable cancer one week ago today and I’m grateful for the week we had with her but so wish it had been longer. Going through this ALMOST makes me want to not have pets, but then I’m reminded of the immense joy and depth they bring to my life. It was an honor to love you for 15 wonderful years and send you on your way when it was time today, no matter how difficult the decision was. Thank you so much to my friend Karen B. for being there with me—I know you loved her as much as I do and you made this journey with me a bit easier, if that is even possible. My heart is heavy with both grief and love. I’ll miss you ZenaB (aka Mama’s Girl, Zena Patina, and ZenaBeeBee). Your beauty made up for your clumsiness (you were not as graceful as you looked, shall we say?) and you were a diva your entire life here on earth. I just know there is shredded sharp cheddar cheese (but not the low-fat kind that you turned your nose at), Cool Whip and ice cream where you’re going. Say hello to Jasper for us (even if you never really much cared for him…do it anyway, okay?) Learn how lovely ZenaB got her name here: https://cindydyer.wordpress.com/2007/08/08/egads-another-zena-bethune/

Basket Case


Actions

Information

13 responses

10 09 2014
DeniseinVA

I am so sorry for your loss Cindy. She was a beautiful cat, such pretty eyes. May your memories of all the joy she brought you carry you through this sad time. You are in my thoughts.

11 09 2014
Molly Corum

Thoughts and prayers as you go through this sad time. Treasure the memories of your 15 years………HUGS

11 09 2014
SueBee and Kat

Sincere condolences. She’s a beauty and it seems you were lucky to have each other.

11 09 2014
Mike Powell

My heart goes out to you, Cindy, on the loss of one of your beautiful companions. Though she often hid under the bed when I was taking care of her, she would almost magically appear from time to time and grace me with her presence.

11 09 2014
marina kanavaki

I am so very sorry, Cindy. I know how hard it is losing a companion – especially to this relentless disease. In a way she will always be with you…

11 09 2014
Marc-André

So sorry to hear 😦

11 09 2014
Cam

Oh, I’m so sorry Cin. My heart is heavy for you.
Love, Cam

11 09 2014
Sue Cummings

ZenaB was a sweetie of a kitty and I am so sorry for yours and Michael’s loss. I remember how gorgeous and thick her coat was and what a sweet spirit she was. I know the hurt of losing a pet that you have loved so well and for so long and I pray that you are comforted by the great life you gave her and all the wonderful memories you both have of her.

11 09 2014
margosnotebook

i’m sorry for your loss, our pets become our companions and confidents on so many levels

12 09 2014
Redheaded Woman

What a treat it was to receive a glance from your sweet ZenaB…even if the look was, “you’re not my mother…be gone!” And then she would scamper down or up the stairs. She let me stroke her on occasion but just for a bit as she let it be known, she was yours. I loved seeing Michael brush her hair and coo to her and you tenderly feed her bits of cheese. She was a beautiful lady and had a wonderful life. I will miss seeing her at your house but know we will all be together again to skip and play and eat cheese! Hugs to both of you and Michael, Karen

16 09 2014
cindydyer

Thank you, Margot.

16 09 2014
cindydyer

Thank you for your condolences, Marina. It’s been a tough week emotionally.

16 09 2014
cindydyer

Thank you, Denise. We miss her so much. The house isn’t the same without her.

Leave a comment